top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydneyCunliffe

Week 1/2

Updated: Aug 16, 2021

About me:

Reasons I picked this paper;

  • I am interested in using my basic skills of coding to improve and teach others

  • AR is something that interests me

  • learning new programs to help with other assignments and projects in the future

I am a second-year design student, papers I completed were not involving much AR in assignments/projects. This year I thought I would explore a bit more of that side of design. I have a basic understanding of coding from past papers. However, would like to make it a strong skill of mine.


Week 1:

In the studio, we learnt the basics of designing a snap chat filter. If you want to have a look at the filter just scan the code when on the Snapchat app.



Week 2:

Using our basic knowledge we are assigned an assessment. we had to make a filter in our own time and using our own learnings to make a working filter.





Augmented Reality Prototype


What went good

  • I had most designs from out of class design work.

  • I had an understanding of how to use lens studio

What went bad

  • Placement for the background was hard so I had to rescale it a lot to make it fit properly

Improvement

  • If I had more time I would have loved to add more features

    • Adding a tapping feature to show different seasons or characters of Bojack horseman

    • Maybe make the filter adjust the world when you flip the camera turning th users world into a Bojack styled world.


Progress of the background



The aim of this filter is to design an “advertisement” for my favourite tv show. In my spare time, I have done a number of different graphics on my computer (unrelated to my studies).

The background was made up of multiple scenes found within the show. I made screenshots and added each layer accordingly. The filter seemed a bit plain without sound, so I added music to suit the theme of the filter.



This is the main image in the background of the filter, I did do few adjustments just to suit the rest of the theme. (can’t find the original image, however since this image is from a while ago) Well designing ti background of the filter, I thought it would be a good idea to add two Bojacks to show that “it gets easier” (one of the most popular quotes from the show)

  • The top photo is Bojack in a better place

  • The bottom photo is Bojack not at his best.

Final Background




References







7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page