top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydneyCunliffe

My Thoughts on Adobe Photoshop

Updated: Apr 9, 2020


As many designers do, I started my design journey using Photoshop. I started using Adobe Photoshop in 2018 (year 12). I have always had to teach myself everything I know about Photoshop and apply it. Photoshop has been a big part of my design journey as I haven't really used any other software.


What is Photoshop?

"Adobe Photoshop is the predominant photo editing and manipulation software on the market. Its uses range from the full-featured editing of large batches of photos to creating intricate digital paintings and drawings that mimic those done by hand." (1)

There is a range of tools you can use to create your desired look you are going for. I personally have manly used Photoshop for creating magazine covers, creating logos, making mastheads for a magazine, layout out of magazine two page spreads. I have just recently started experimenting with tools within the software I haven't touched. I used the new tools (to me) to create my posters for assignment 1 for DES101. I have tried Additional Photoshop mobile apps, Photoshop fix and Photoshop Express, I used these Apps manly for high school but not so much now.


By doing some research some pros and cons of Photoshop. Productions By Alpha has a pros and cons list "The top 5 pros and cons of Photoshop"(2) This interesting article have one con I can understand. "First time users can easily get lost" meaning that the software can be "overwhelming"

When I first started using Photoshop I didn't know where to start, for me I just saw a whole lot of tools on the side and a blank page.

Productions By Alpha also stated that Photoshop has poor vector support, "Vector support is not offered on all versions of Photoshop and you would be better off using Adobe Illustrator or another program you can find."

I found this very surprising since it's Photoshop and would expect the software to have good vector support.


While we on the topic of vectors, its important to know the difference between vectoring and rendering when using Photoshop because you don't want to use the wrong tools. "Raster images are created with pixel-based programs or captured with a camera or scanner. They are more common in general such as jpg, gif, png, and are widely used on the web. Vector graphics are created with vector software and are common for images that will be applied onto a physical product. Also used in CAD, engineering, and 3D graphics which we do not provide information nor services for." (3)

That's why when using certain tools like the brush or Paint bucket tools in Photoshop its not defined and sometimes ruins a design. That would go the same for when erasing with the rubber tool.




References -


1) Kastrenakes, J. (2020, February 19). How Photoshop became a verb. The Verge. Retrieved April 4, 2020, from https://www.theverge.com/2020/2/19/21143794/photoshop-30th-anniversary-adobe-verb-origin-story


(2) Top 5 pros and cons of Photoshop. (2020, February 12). Productions By Alpha™. Retrieved April 4, 2020, from https://www.productionsbyalpha.com/top-5-pros-and-cons-of-photoshop/


(3) Raster (Bitmap) vs Vector. (n.d.). Vector Conversion. Retrieved April 7, 2020, from https://vector-conversions.com/vectorizing/raster_vs_vector.html

20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page